Here is a chronology of the brief tenure of Sein Lwin, who resigned Friday as leader of Burma:

July 23 - Ne Win, who had ruled this isolationist Southeast Asian country since a 1962 coup, resigns as chairman of the nation's only political party, the Burma Socialist Program Party.July 25 - Several delegates to a governing party congress say they are opposed to the referendum call.

July 26 - Sein Lwin, a retired army general who reportedly led forces that suppressed the anti-government riots in March, named party chairman.

July 27 - Lwin named president.

July 30 - Authorities reportedly detain 10 people, including a prominent government critic, Gen. Aung Gyi.

Also detained is Sein Win, the Burmese correspondent of The Associated Press.

Aug. 3 - Burma declares martial law in the capital of Rangoon, thousands of students, wearing masks, demonstrate against repression by Sein Lwin.

Aug. 7 - Five people are reported killed and an undetermined number wounded in weekend anti-government rioting.

Aug. 8 - Eight people are reported killed as tens of thousands of people marched in Rangoon and 14 other cities. Student activists spread pamphlets urging Sein Lwin's overthrow.

Aug. 9 - Hundreds more are arrested as tens of thousands riot in more than two dozen cities. Burmese radio says 36 people are killed.

Aug. 10 - State radio says 30 others are killed in Rangoon street battles. It says 160 people were wounded and 1,500 arrested in the last two days.

The U.S. Embassy is closed.

Aug. 11 - Official Rangoon radio reports another 15 killed in anti-government riots in Rangoon, bringing the official death toll to about 95. Other sources say hundreds have died.

Aug. 12 - Sein Lwin resigns as president and party chairman. No successor is announced.