Colorado and Notre Dame each placed three players on the Football Writers Association of America All-America team announced Monday.

The 47th annual team includes five repeats from the 1989 team, and has two quarterbacks.Ty Detmer of Brigham Young and Shawn Moore of the University of Virginia tied in the selection committee voting, so the association decided to include both, said association director Volney Meece of the Daily Oklahoman.

The three Colorado players on the squad are offensive guard Joe Garten, an All-America repeat who is also an Outland Trophy finalist; linebacker Alfred Williams, another repeater; and halfback Eric Bienemy, one of the nation's leading rushers this year.

Notre Dame is represented on the team by punt and kickoff return man Raghib Ismail, who also made the 1989 squad; nose tackle Chris Zorich, another repeater; and linebacker Michael Stonebreaker.

The fifth returner from the 1989 team was Tripp Welborne of Michigan.

Three schools placed two men on the squad: Miami, Virginia and Brigham Young.

Miami's 1990 All Americas are defensive tackle Russell Maryland, another of the three Outland Trophy finalists; and linebacker Maurice Crum.

Brigham Young's are Detmer and tight end Chris Smith. Virginia's are Shawn Moore and pass-catching end Herman Moore.