THE LEAGUE OF UTAH WRITERS has sent out the names of the winners in its annual poetry competition. They are:

Published Poem: Maxine Jennings (first); Kolette Montague (second); LaVon B. Carroll (third).Unpublished Poem: Maxine Jennings (first); Helen Mar Cook (second); Clarence Socwell (third).

Historical Poem: Kolette Montague (first); Donna M. Oakeson (second); Geraldine Pratt (third).

Roberts Award (published): Helen Bradford (first); Kolette Montague (second); LaVon B. Carroll (third).

Roberts Award (unpublished): Donna M. Oakeson (first); Geraldine Pratt (second); Mary L. Henrie (third).

Light Verse (published): Hazel T. Marrott (first); Wanda Blaisdell (second); Carol B. Quist (third).

Light Verse (unpublished): Clarence Socwell (first); Maureen Black (second); Hazel T. Marrott (third).

Youth Poetry: D. Marisa Black (first); Julianne Gordon (second); Brandon Gresham (third).

- THE SCOTTISH INTERNATIONAL Open Poetry Competition is accepting entries from all poets writing in English or Scottish.

Poems are not limited in form or subject matter, but there is a limit of two poems per contestant.

Deadline is Dec. 31, 1990.

Send poems, with self-addressed, stamped envelope, to The Ayrshire Writers' and Artists' Society, 108 Overtoun Road, Springside, Irvine, Ayrshire KA11 3 BW, Scotland.

The winner will receive a trophy from the society.

- WEBER STATE UNIVERSITY is calling for undergraduate research papers on literature.

The National Undergraduate Literature Conference has been slated there for next spring. Authors Tim O'Brien and Richard Bausch will be attending, along with poet Carolyn Forche.

For information on the conference and the competition, call Mikel Vause (626-6659) or the Literature Conference Office at 626-7365.