The Utah Department of Public Safety recently honored citizens and employees for exceptional service and bravery.

The commendations were given at the department's annual awards banquet.Those honored were:

Trooper of the Year: Utah Highway Patrolman Kyle Bushnell.

Executive Award of Merit: Gov. Norm Bangerter; Juab County Sheriff David Carter; Rep. Christine Fox, R-Lehi; Assistant Attorney General Bruce Hale; Utah Criminal Justice Commission Director Mark Jones; University of Utah Police Chief Wayne Shepherd.

Citizen Service Awards: Lewis Fausett, Stuart Neilson and Nathan G. Young Jr. All three risked their lives to save others at traffic accidents.

Unit Citations: Management Information Services Division; Utah Law Enforcement Intelligence Network; Medicaid Fraud Statistical Section; "Cache Valley Cares" Crew of the Utah Highway Patrol; Section Two, District D of the UHP; Section Three of the UHP; and Section Six, District D of the UHP.

Distinguished Service Medal: Merilyn Angerbauer, office technician for the Driver License Division Records Bureau; Ron Gustaveson and Mel Milgrom, fire marshal's office; UHP Trooper Merv Gustin; Brent Halladay, chief deputy of the fire marshal's office; UHP Trooper Russell Lee; and Stacy Peterson, Driver License Division.

Department of Public Safety Star: Protective Services officer Cathy Mansor; UHP Trooper Tim Trujillo.

Thirty-year Service Awards: Clark Anderson, UHP; Bud Catlin, UHP; Bob Marz, telecommunication; Becci McKnight, Driver License Division; Duane Richens, UHP; and Bob Robins, Divison of Investigations.