Al Unser, Jr., who won his first CART PPG Cup Indy-car championship edged four-time stock car champion Dale Earnhardt for 1990 Driver of the Year.

The 28-year-old Unser, a second-generation Indy-car star, drew five first-place votes from a national panel of 10 writers and broadcasters, and was named a co-winner with Earnhardt by two other panelists. Earnhardt received the other three first-place votes.Unser totalled 78 points to 72 for Earnhardt in the vote taken Tuesday.

Unser, whose father won Driver of the Year in 1970 and whose Uncle Bobby won in 1974, will receive the award in New York on Dec. 7.

The Indy-car champion won six of 16 races in 1990, including a CART record four in a row. Earnhardt, 38, overcame Mark Martin by 26 points in the NASCAR Winston Cup battle, winning nine of 29 races.