Brigham Young's Ty Detmer has been selected college football player of the year by the Scripps Howard panel of sportswriters. Rivaling the prolific quarterback for attention is Notre Dame's Mr. Everything, Raghib Ismail.

Georgia Tech's Bobby Ross is Scripps Howard coach of the year. His third-ranked Yellow Jackets are 9-0-1, the only undefeated Division I team.Detmer has passed for 4,309 yards and 33 touchdowns this season. His efforts have led the Cougars to 9-1 (two games remaining) and to the Western Athletic Conference championship.

The Scripps Howard panel concluded that Ismail is one of America's most exciting players but couldn't decide what to do with him. He got votes as a running back and receiver. He may be even better as a kick returner. He burned opponents for 632 yards receiving, 407 in returns and 498 rushing.

Two other Notre Dame players - cornerback Todd Lyght and middle guard Chris Zorich - are on the All-America team.

Top-ranked Colorado has three honorees - offensive guard Joe Garten, star runner Eric Bieniemy and linebacker Alfred Williams.

BYU also had another first team All-American - tight end Chris Smith. Smith has 48 receptions for 861 yards.