LaVell Edwards, Brigham Young's coach who has directed the Cougars to a No. 4 national rating, was named the 1990 Western Athletic Conference coach of the year on Wednesday by the league's head coaches and sports information directors.

The WAC also awarded other honors Wednesday to BYU quarterback Ty Detmer, offensive player of the year; Wyoming's Mitch Donahue, defensive player of the year, and University of Texas at El Paso linebacker Barron Wortham, freshman of the year.With two games remaining in the regular season, Edwards' Cougars stand at 9-1 and have won the WAC championship, the second consecutive WAC title and the 12th in Edwards' 18-year coaching career.

Edwards, 60, received 10 first place votes and 25 points in the balloting to outpace Colorado State coach Earle Bruce, who had 5 first place votes and 15 points. Wyoming's Paul Roach was next with three first place votes and 13 points, followed by first-year Utah head coach Ron McBride with one point.

This year's award marks the sixth WAC Coach of the Year honor for Edwards, who also won in 1972, 1979, 1980, 1983 and 1984.

He has coached the Cougars to eight or more wins in each of the last 14 seasons.

With an 18-year career record of 174-57-1, Edwards is the third winningest active coach in Division I-A, and is fifth in total victories.

Detmer, BYU's junior quarterback and considered a leading Heisman Trophy candidate, received unanimous selection for the offensive player award with 16 of a possible 16 first place votes and 32 points.

Donahue, a senior defensive end and a three-time first team all-WAC selection, was an easy winner for his second consecutive defensive player of the year award. He received 14 first place votes and 30 points to outdistance BYU linebacker Alema Fitisemanu, who had seven points. Colorado State's Eric Schaller was next with 5 points, and several players had two points.

Wortham, a redshirt freshman, leads UTEP in tackles with 114 including 86 unassisted stops.