Twelve players from Utah schools, 10 from league champion Brigham Young University and two from the University of Utah, have been selected to the first unit of the all-Western Athletic Conference football team announced Tuesday.

Another three Cougars and a Ute made the second team.Led by Heisman Trophy candidate Ty Detmer at quarterback and Chris Smith at tight end, both repeaters from last year's team, the Cougars placed six members of their offense on the All-WAC first team. Others named are running back Matt Bellini, wide receiver Andy Boyce and linemen Neal Fort and Bob Stephens.

BYU defenders named to the first team included defensive back Brian Mitchell, lindebacker Alema Fitisemanu, lineman Rich Kafusi and punter Earl Kauffman.

Utah players chosen for the first team were defensive back Sean Knox and linebacker Anthony Davis.

Utahns on the second team are Utah defender Jimmy Bellamy and three BYU players - Mike Keim on offense and Tony Crutchfield and Rocky Biefel on defense.

San Diego State and Colorado State each put four players on the first team, and Wyoming placed three. Air Force and Hawaii matched Utah's two, and New Mexico had one.

Joining Detmer on the first-team backfield is another quarterback, San Diego State's Dan McGwire, who's third in the nation in pass efficiency. Also in the backfield is Colorado State's Brian Copeland.

Like Detmer, McGwire brought two receivers along in Patrick Rowe and Dennis Arey. First-string offensive linemen incclude Wyoming's Tyrone Fittje, San Diego State's Nick Subis and repeater John Laurita of Colorado State. The placekicker is Air Force's Joe Woods.

First-team defense is topped by Wyoming's three-time selection Mitch Donahue at end. Also repeating are linemen Eric Schaller of Colorado State and John Bell of New Mexico. Linebackers include Air Force's J.T. Tokish and repeater Mark Odom of Hawaii. Hawaii also got a first-teamer in return specialist Jeff Sydner.

A complete list of All-WAC players is in the Scoreboard on D4.