Utahns can help their legislators come up with a vision for the state's future by participating in town meetings scheduled Tuesday at 35 locations from Brigham City to St. George.

During the Tuesday meetings, Utahns will be asked to comment on a draft of a vision statement prepared by the Legislature's Strategic Planning Committee, which has named itself Utah Tomorrow.The one-page document proclaims that the state's residents "Stand at the edge of a new frontier" and uses words such as nurture, promote, broaden and assure to describe 11 goals.

For example, the first goal listed is to "nurture an open, just and compassionate society that welcomes diversity," while another is to "assure open, just and accountable government."

Sen. Lane Beattie, R-Bountiful, co-chairman of the legislative committee, said the vision statement "is a broad, value-based description of what is important to the citizenry of Utah."

Beattie said during a Tuesday press conference called to announce the town meetings the strategic plan that results from the vision statement will help make the Legislature more pro-active.

"We cannot simply wait for tomorrow to happen. We must actively plan for the future of our state," Beattie said.

Even Gov. Norm Bangerter, who has not been a promoter of the Legislature's strategic planning efforts, said during the press conference that the process could be helpful.

"The more information everybody has, the better we are able to make joint decisions," Bangerter said. He said he hopes the effort will do more than produce a document that would do little more that sit on a shelf.

All town meetings are scheduled to begin at 7:30 p.m. on Tuesday with a video presentation that includes comments from the governor, followed by discussion about the vision statement.

At 9 p.m., KUED Channel 7 will provide live coverage from seven meeting locations during the public television station's "Civic Dialogue" program. The station is picking up all broadcasting costs, according to the committee.

Viewers will be able to telephone the station during the program and participate, and attendees at some meetings will be able to talk to participants in other parts of the state via a special hook-up.


(Additional information)

Where to participate

- West High School, Room 109, 21 N. 300 West

- City County Building, Room 442, 451 S. State

- East High School, Room 315, 840 S. 1300 East

- Highland High School, Room 205, 2166 S. 1700 East

- Olympus Junior High, Media Center, 2217 E. 4800 South

- Murray High School, Room 159, 5440 S. State (Enter on south side).

- Butler Middle School, Faculty Room, 7530 S. 2700 East. (Enter through the front main entrance on the north end. Turn left. Faculty room is down the hall on the west side.)- Sandy City Hall, Commission Chambers, 8680 S. 440 East

- Indian Hills Junior High, Room 10, 1180 E. Saunders Road (11600 South).

- South Jordan City Hall, Council Chambers, 11175 S. Redwood Road

- West Jordan City Hall, Council Chambers, 1850 W. 7800 South.

- Salt Lake Community College, Technology Building, Room 220, 4600 S. Redwood Road.

- West Valley City Hall, Council Chambers, 3600 S. Constitution Blvd.- Brigham City - Box Elder School District Board Room.

- Cedar City - Southern Utah State College Library.

- Delta - Delta High School Media Center.

- Ephraim - Snow College Library.

- Logan - Utah State University Telecommunications Building.

- Moab - Grand County Courthouse.

- Ogden - Weber State College Library.

- Panguitch - Garfield County Courthouse.

- Park City - Park City municipal offices.

- Price - Carbon County Courthouse Commission Chambers.

- Richfield - Sevier County Courthouse.

- Roosevelt - Uintah Basin Applied Technology Center.

- Spanish Fork - Spanish Fork High School little auditorium.

- St. George - Dixie College Audio-Visual Center.

- Tooele - Tooele School District Board Room.

- Vernal - Uintah County Commission Chambers.