The structure of Division I college basketball continued to change with the official creation of the Great Midwest.

The formation of the NCAA's 34th conference ends DePaul's independent status. The Blue Demons join Alabama-Birmingham, Cincinnati, Marquette, Memphis State and St. Louis University in the non-football conference which will begin play in the 1991-92 season. Under NCAA rules, the new league will have to wait five years before it can be considered for an automatic NCAA tournament bid.