Stuart Johnson of Aurora has been elected president of the Sevier County Farm Bureau.

Named to the board of directors at the annual meeting and banquet were Tom Christensen, Ivan Cowley and Garth Ogden. Marylene Dastrup is the bureau's secretary/treasurer, and Ireleta Bastian and Jan Gurney were named to the women's organization board.Members voiced support for establishing a state Department of Environmental Quality, while opposing the Real Estate Transfer Act. That law requires that people disclose to their county the price they receive for selling property. Sevier Farm Bureau members claim that would be an invasion of privacy.

The group voted to propose to the Sevier County Commission that the county be designated a drought area so that farmers would be eligible for federal relief funding.