Two Democratic candidates defeated in the race for Grand County Commission are among nominees to fill the unexpired term of the commission chairman, who resigned last month.

David Bierschied and Craig Bigler, who lost in their bids last week for four-year commission terms, are on a list of nominees to be considered next week for appointment to the four-year seat vacated by Merv Lawton.Lawton, elected in 1988, resigned because of medical reasons.

The other nominees on a list the Grand County Democratic Central Committee submitted Thursday to the county clerk's office are Kyle Bailey, Jack Campbell, Mary "Sam" Cunningham and Peter Haney.

Commissioner Ferne Mullen said she expects to be able to reach agreement with acting commission chairman David Knutson on who to appoint next Tuesday during their regular meeting.

"I think we've got some good names there. We've talked about it and said we'd agree to agree," she said.

Nominees were selected by a majority of the 21-member committee from a field of 17 applicants, said chairman Travis Trittschuh. He said the group decided last week that Bigler and Bierschied should be included if they lost the election.

"The central committee looked at the possibility of defeat in the polls and felt that, with the support they (Bigler and Bierschied) would get - even in defeat about 1,000 votes - that was justification for nominating them, and the fact that they are familiar with the problems and have been serving the Democratic Party and generally made themselves visible and responsible," Trittshcuh said.