A West Bountiful homemaker/writer has been elected chairwoman of the Davis School District Foundation.

Sherrie Johnson will replace outgoing chairman Patrick Bates in directing the efforts of the charitable organization, which raises money to fund programs not normally supported by school budgets.During the past year, the foundation secured $346,000, $129,000 more than last year. The foundation also works to coordinate efforts of school patrons, private businesses and the educators in improving Davis schools.

Other members of the board of trustees are: Charles Allen, Patrick Bates, Noall Bennett, Kathie Bone, Val Christensen, Louenda Downs, Bryan Gray, Rich Kendell.

Also, Nancy Lyon, Ralph Mabey, Jon Memmott, Shauna Nakaya, Kathy Oviatt, Ralph Praeger, John Redd, Randy Reese, LaMont Sant, Scott Steorts, Bill Stringham, Lynn Summerhays, DeLore Thurgood and Gary Wright.