The first half of the 1990 World Chess Championship match is completed with the reigning world champion, Gary Kasparov, and his challenger, the former champion Anatoly Karpov, tied with 6 points each.

The two are picking up their pieces and boards and moving to Lyon, France, where the second half of the match will be played. Twelve games are scheduled. It doesn't seem likely that fewer than the 12 scheduled games will be played, though that is possible if one or the other should pull ahead with 12 1/2 points.The first dozen games played at the Hotel Macklowe in New York have again confirmed the playing style of each.

Kasparov, 27, has a bold, attacking style both in chess and away from the board. He does not hesitate to criticize his country's communist leaders; he has founded a democratic political party, launched an anti-communist newspaper in Moscow and organized a large group of chess grandmasters to challenge the power and programs of the World Chess Federation (FIDE).

Karpov, 39, relies on methodical, defense-minded strategies. He is a Communist Party member who has been quoted as saying: "I have two loves: communism and chess." Karpov was world champion for 10 years until the younger Kasparov took the title from him. A rematch in 1987 ended in a tie, and under the rules, Kasparov retained his title.

This match began Oct. 8 in New York. The match includes three games a week and will continue in France, starting Nov. 24.

The winner receives $1.7 million and the loser $1.3 million.

The championship is determined by point scoring: Each game victory counts as one point, and each player receives a half-point for a draw.

A player needs 12 1/2 points to win the championship. In a 12-12 tie, the players would split the $3 million prize money evenly, and the champion retains the title.

- CHAMPIONSHIP - The annual Utah Open tournament is scheduled for next weekend, Nov. 16-18. For the first time it will be held at the Airport Inn International, 2333 W. North Temple.

The meet will be held in three sections: open, reserve and scholastic.

The open section is open to all players.

The reserve section is open to players rated below 1800 or unrated.

The scholarship is open for players in grades K-12, or under 18 years of age.

OPEN: Six-round, Swiss system. Forty moves in two hours, followed by game in 60 minutes. Fee: $25 if paid by Nov. 10, at site $30. Awards are based on 40 entries in the section. Top two overall are guaranteed up to $159 and $100. The "Utah State Champion" title goes to the highest-scoring Utah player. Rounds: 1-2 at 1 and 7 p.m. Nov. 16; 3-4 at 10 a.m. and 5 p.m. Nov. 17; 5-6 at 10 a.m. and 5 p.m. Nov. 18. Players may take a half-point bye for any two rounds if requested at time of registration.

RESERVE: Nov. 16-17. Four-round, Swiss system. Game time is 75 minutes for each player. Entry fee is $8 if received by Nov. 10; $12 at site. Cash awards are based on 40 entries: Highest-scoring player, highest C, D, E, unrated, woman player. Rounds: 1 at 7 p.m. Nov. 16; 2-3-4 at 10 a.m., 2 p.m. and 6 p.m. Nov. 17. Players may take a half-point bye any one round if requested at time of registration.

SCHOLASTIC: Nov. 17 only. Four-round, Swiss system, players will be paired with other players in their grade level, high school, junior high and elementary. Each group will be split in half by rating to create six separate events. Game time 30 minutes for each player. Fee: $4. A number of trophies will be given for schools and individuals. This section will begin playing at 10 a.m. and continue until all four games are finished, probably about 3 p.m.

This is a no-smoking tournament. Directing the tournament will be Norman Jenson.

The annual meeting of the Utah Chess Association will be held Nov. 17 at 4 p.m. It will include voting on a new organization to comply with state and federal laws for non-profit organizations.

Sponsoring the Utah Open is the Utah Chess Association, with John Minnoch, Robert Tanner and Norman Jenson as organizers.

- CONGRATULATIONS TO THE SOLVERS! - David Wilnes, Ron Copier, Ryan Stucki, John Newman, Joseph Evans, Ramon E. Bassett, David Wilhite, John Neilsen, Curt Jeppson, Brent Terry, George Stucki, David L. Evans, Aaron Brough, Michael Brough, Scott Mitchell, Jack Crandall, Ardean Watts, Nathan Kennard, Raeburn Kennard, Ann Neil, Joye McMulland, Kim Barney, David Ferguson, Glennin Cloward, Richard Adams, Ted Pathakis, Tim Painter, Stanley Hunt, Jim Turner, Paul R. Lindeman, Ronnie Millet, William DeVroom, Dean Thompson, Eugene Wagstaff, Wilburn West, Monroe Iversen, William D. Price, Edwin O. Smith, David D. Kirk, Alison Hermance, Peter Rogers, Hal Harmon, Farrell Ostler, Vali Kremer, Gordon Green, Russell O'Dell, Kay Lundstrom, Ken Frost, Donovan Weight, Dale Brimley, Kevin Smullin, Stephen Kirk and Robert W. Lee.