Bingham and Springville will be back to defend their 1989 titles in the 4A and 3A USHAA-First Security Bank prep volleyball state tournaments this weekend.

The 2A and 1A prep volleyball tournaments were conducted last month, with Enterprise claiming its second straight 1A crown while Richfield earned its first-ever state championship in the 2A classification.For a complete listing of first-round and quarterfinal game times in the 4A and 3A tournaments, please see the prep volleyball listing on page D5.4A tournament - Bingham is one of the top-seeded teams from the four 4A regions, with each of the top seeds hosting the first two tournament rounds in a four-team mini- regional format. Thursday's first-round games are scheduled for 3 p.m. and 4:30 p.m., while quarterfinal consolation games are at 6:30 p.m. and winners- bracket contests follow at 8 p.m.

Region 3 top-seed Bingham plays host to Davis, Alta and Provo; Region 1's Weber inivtes Pleasant Grove, Brighton and Kearns; Region 2's Skyline welcomes Granger, Roy and Cyprus; and Region 4's Mountain View hosts Cottonwood, Taylorsville and Layton.

The 4A semifinals will follow Saturday morning at Mountain View and Pleasant Grove high schools, with the final rounds contested Saturday afternoon and evening at Mountain View. The championship match is scheduled for 7:15 p.m. Saturday.

3A tournament - Springville is among the 16-team field at the two-day 3A tournament, scheduled for the two courts at West High.

First-round and quarterfinal matches are planned for Friday, while the semifinal and final rounds will be played Saturday. The championship match is scheduled for 6 p.m.

Springville enters the tournament as the top seed from Region 8. Other top seeds include Region 5's Mountain Crest; Region 6's Granite; and Region 7's Union.


(Additional information)

Prep volleyball state titles

Teams having won the most prep volleyball titles, with no distinction made

between the 4A, 3A, 2A and 1A classifications.

First Most

Team Tot. title recent

Delta 6 1981 1988

Weber 6 1978 1986

Morgan 4 1974 1989

Source: UHSAA Handbook