Nawaz Sharif, the head of the army-backed alliance that defeated Benazir Bhutto in last month's elections, was sworn in as prime minister Tuesday.

President Ghulam Ishaq Khan, who sacked Bhutto's government in August, administered the oath of office to Sharif at a ceremony in the presidential palace.The National Assembly earlier Tuesday elected Sharif as prime minister. He received 153 votes in the 217-member assembly with 39 going to the only other candidate, Afzal Khan, an ally of Bhutto.