The chairman of the State Board of Regents appointed a larger than normal presidential search committee to name the replacement to retiring University of Utah President Chase N. Peterson.

Twenty-three regents, U. Institutional Council representatives, faculty members, alumni, staff members, students, and community representatives will serve on the committee. Usually a search committee has 19 or 20 members. There are more regents and faculty on this committee.Peterson has announced his retirement for June 30, 1991.

Regent Ian Cumming is the chairman.

Others are:

Regents: Aileen H. Clyde, Douglas Foxley, Robert D. Hales, Karen H. Huntsman and Steven E. Snow.

U. Institutional Council: Louis H. Callister, James S. Jardine, Leonard J. Lewis, Nancy K. Pace and Reed Searle.

Faculty: Linda K. Amos, nursing dean; Patricia Hanna, humanities; L. Jackson Newell, education; John R. Roth, biology; Kenneth Washington, fine arts; and Harold H. Wolf, pharmacy.

Alumni: G. Don Gale, KSL-TV.

Staff: Philip V. Bernal.

Student: John Wunderli, U. student body president.

Community: Spencer F. Eccles, First Security Bank; John W. Gallivan, The Salt Lake Tribune; and former legislator Robert H. Garff of Garff Imports.