Run together as combined 1A-2A races for the past five years, the 1A and 2A cross country meets were conducted as separate events Wednesday. The result was some successful team title defenses, as well as some newcomers to the winners' stand.

2A boys - Mike James of winning team Park City, who finished second in the 1989 1A-2A boys meet, took top honors with a time of 16 minutes, 9.2 seconds - more than 20 seconds ahead of second-place Jeff Anderson of Richfield, who finished at 16:30.6 Also finishing in the top 10 for Park City were Thom Felt (13:32.6, third), Tav Streit (17:09.6, fifth) and Robert Simmons (17:27, 10th).Park City, which won last year's 1A-2A boys title, outdistanced '89 runner- up Richfield for the 2A crown, with the Miners finishing with 40 points and the Wildcats 55.

San Juan, which took third with 64 team points, had its top five runners finish before the No. 5 runners from both Park City and Richfield. But four Broncos finished from 14th to 19th, making the San Juan team point total soar beyond those of Park City and Richfield.

2A girls - Grantsville's Jessica Oliver, the sole representative from her school who ran unattached at the state meet, took top honors with a time of 19:54.5. Richfield track standout Taunya Daniels placed second at 19:58.4, while the '89 1A-2A champion Nicolette Mose of San Juan dropped to third this year at 20:25.0. South Sevier amassed 36 team points, with its five top runners finishing in the top 12 places, while Park City took second at 50 and Richfield third at 59. Angie Hamblin posted South Sevier's best time at 21:00.7, en route to a fifth-place finish.

1A boys - Duchesne's Conley Moon easily outdistanced Monticello's Micah Ewart, the 1989 1A-2A boys titlist by nearly a 20-second margin - Moon's 16:08.8 time to Ewart's 16:27.2.

But Ewart was the first of five Monticello runners in the top 13 finishers, giving the Buckaroo boys a 26-point team total. Jock Pool's 16:55.8 was tops for second-place St. Joseph, which ended with 55 points.

1A girls - Whitehorse earned its third straight cross country title, winning a pair of previous 1A-2A crowns before Wednesday's 1A championship. Evalene Yellowman had Whitehorse's top time with a sixth-place mark of 21:38.5, while teammates Mary Rice and Ruth Barlow finished immediately behind. Trailing Whitehorse's 36-point winning score was second-place Monticello with 40.

Parowan's Lalena Page ran a 20:06.0 time for first-place honors.