Six men who helped earn university status for Weber State will receive awards Friday, Oct. 26, from the Weber State Alumni Association.

Nolan E. Karras, speaker of the Utah State House of Representatives; Richard E. Myers, chairman of the WSC Institutional Council; and Marty R. Stephens, a member of the Utah House of Representatives, will receive Distinguished Alumni Awards. Haven J. Barlow, a member of the Utah State Senate; John B. Goddard, a member of the Utah Board of Regents; and Stephen D. Nadauld, former president of Weber State, will receive Distinguished Service Awards."This year's winners were specifically chosen because of their unique assistance in changing the name of this institution to Weber State University," said Edie George, executive director of the alumni association.

Weber State College will officially change its name to Weber State University on Jan. 1, 1991.

"Weber State and its alumni owe a great debt to these individuals," George said. "This is one way we can express our appreciation."

The six will receive their awards during Weber State's homecoming banquet Oct. 26.

The Distinguished Alumni Award is given former students who "by their distinguished service to Weber State, the state or nation or profession have brought honor to Weber State and to themselves."