A group of Utah's outstanding teachers was honored Tuesday at the annual Teacher of the Year recognition, receiving the congratulations of Gov. Norm Bangerter and the accolades of state education leaders.

The Utah Teacher of the Year, Waldo Warnick, will represent Utah in the national competition sponsored by the Council of Chief State School Officers in partnership with Encyclopaedia Britannica. He is a vocational educator in the Delta Technical Center.Runners-up in Utah were Marilyn C. Wenzel, a high school teacher from St. George, and Kathleen B. Petersen of San Rafael Junior High School in Ferron, Emery County.

Also honored was Jordan District Superintendent Raymond W. Whittenburg, who was named Superintendent of the Year. He was selected by the Utah School Superintendents Association, the Utah School Boards Association, Utah PTA, the State Office of Education, Utah Education Association and the associations of elementary and secondary school principals.

Bangerter presented plaques and cash awards to the winners.

Whittenburg, who began his career in education as a teacher, also served as a principal before becoming a district administrator. He is recognized by his peers as an educational innovator and has been a leader in the year-round school movement.

Other local Teachers of the Year, selected by their districts, included:

Edythe W. Marett, Altamont Elementary School, Duchesne, a lib-rary/media center specialist; Patrice Kay Merkley, Discovery Elementary School, Uintah, fifth-grade teacher; Lynette Hudson Neff, Goshen Elementary School, second-grade teacher; Dwanna Riddle, Provo High School, social studies teacher; Kathryn Romney, West High School, ninth- and 10th-grade English teacher; Loree W. Spuhler, Adams Elementary School, Logan, kindergarten through fifth-grade media specialist.

Jeff Baldwin, Mountain View High School, Alpine, English/literature, advanced placement in language and composition teacher; Mary Elizabeth Briggs, Jordan Ridge Elementary, sixth-grade teacher; Sue Birkinshaw, Utah Schools for the Deaf and Blind, preschool to high school teacher of the handicapped; Robert Allen Jones, Cyprus High School, social studies teacher; Monica B. Kohler, Midway Elementary School, second-grade teacher; Hazen L. Loveday, North Cache Middle School, mathematics teacher; Linda T. Lundstrom, Municipal Elementary, Weber District, special education elementary reading and math specialist; Jerilyn Wakefield, Tooele Junior High School, English teacher; and Ellen Wixom, Ogden High School, speech/

English teacher.