Life-saving efforts by 11 emergency medical service specialists in Davis County were rewarded recently with certificates and plaques at a special observance at Five Points Shopping Center in Bountiful.

Those honored with certificates by the Davis County EMS Council, which is chaired by Layton Fire Chief Allan Peek, include:Three members of the Kaysville Fire Department, Brett Larking, Ryan Eckart and Mike Egginton, whose fast response and medical skills Feb. 8, 1990, saved the life of a 17-year-old boy whose heart and breathing had stopped.

Two Layton firefighters, Jerry Erickson and Kevin Alred, who saved the life of a 69-year-old man who had gone into full arrest in March of this year.

Those awarded plaques were:

Elsie Mae Hertig, a nurse from Humana Hospital, Layton, named outstanding emergency room nurse of north Davis County; Kelly Wood, Lakeview Hospital, Bountiful, named outstanding emergency room nurse of south Davis County; and Bountiful police officer Brian Taylor, named police officer of the year for leading three children to safety from an apartment fire Dec. 20, 1989.

Bountiful Fire Lt. Bob Stell, the department's medical training officer, was named outstanding emergency medical technician of the year; Bill Moyes, a Layton Police Department dispatcher and a pioneer in developing dispatching protocols for the county, was named dispatcher of the year; and Davis County Sheriff's Department deputy and paramedic Randy Slagowski was named paramedic of the year.