Dan R. McConkie, an employee of the Utah Department of Transportation from Bountiful, has been named president of the Utah Public Employees Association.

At the recent annual meeting of the organization, Terry Schow, an Office of Recovery Services employee from Ogden, was installed as first vice president, and Victor A. Hurtado, a Salt Lake County Management Information Systems employee from Holladay, as second vice president.Along with immediate past president DeMar "Bud" Bowman, a Utah Highway Patrol trooper from Cedar City, the three serve as officers of the state board of the organization that represents both state and local government workers.

The new board members include: Duane Frisby, a State Office of Rehabilitation employee from Payson; Glenn W. Barrow, Office of Recovery Services, Ogden; and Nola Miller, State Office of Education, Centerville.

Other new board members are: Denny Mecham, Salt Lake County Public Works Department, Murray; Sharon Hughes, State Archives, Salt Lake City; Ken Foster, Utah Valley Community College, Orem; and Graham Starkie, state Division of Facilities Construction Management, Taylorsville.