Robert Allen Jones, who has taught 23 years at Cyprus High School, has been recognized by the Granite Board of Education as the district's Teacher of the Year.

Jones, a social studies teacher, was nominated by Cyprus Principal William Christopulos, as well as by teachers, parents and students. Selections were made by a committee from among 16 nominees. As the winner, Jones becomes the district representative in a state competition."His most important attribute is his sincere caring for his students," a student said. "He arrives at school early and stays late, making himself available for students who need help."

A parent wrote that "His students are not just names to him. They are individuals with differences, with personalities, strengths and weaknesses . . . He helps them use problems as stepping stones instead of stumbling blocks."

Fellow teachers see him as a dedicated educator whose energy and skills are devoted to helping his students.

Jones has served on several district committees for textbook selection, curriculum revision and advanced-placement studies. He is listed in "Who's Who Among American Teachers" and was teacher of the year at Cyprus in 1983-84, as well as receiving other recognitions and awards. He helped organize a book drive for the library and has organized student volunteers to help with community projects.

"I feel that I convey a love for history and for learning in general to my students," Jones said. "I feel they make significant gains in abilities, aptitudes and attitudes that make them better people and the world a better place. I also feel that I develop a caring relationship with my students, which leads them toward greater confidence in their own competency."

Other Granite candidates were Mary Benis, Hill View; Caroln Crofts, Hillside: Brends Crooks, Granite Park Junior; Harry Davis, Kearns High; Rosemary Gadd, Academy Park; Diana Hurley, Beehive Elementary; Ronald Jensen, Wasatch Junior High; Dale Johnson, Monroe; Sharon Johnson, Oakwood; Stephanie Martin, Central High; Pam McDonald, Oakridge; LaWana Merrill, Bennion Junior High; Ronda Nielson, Sklyline; MarRae Sattherthwaite, Fox Hills; and Marcia Thayne, Granger High.