Several Brigham Young University faculty members have received four Karl G. Maeser General Education Professorships and 10 Alcuin Fellowships in recognition of their excellence in general education.

Maeser Professorship recipients are: Elouise M. Bell, professor of English and associate dean of general and honors education; K. Codell Carter, professor of philosophy; John J. Merrill, professor of physics and astronomy; and Samuel R. Rushforth, professor of botany.The Maeser Professorship acknowledges outstanding contributions to undergraduate general and honors education by faculty members who have also actively pursued scholarly interests and provided important service to the university community. The award carries a $5,000 annual salary stipend and a provision for research funding. Appointments to these professorships are for three years.

The Alcuin Fellow recipients are: Steven Bule, assistant professor of art; Thomas H. Brown, professor of French and Italian; Terrell M.

Butler, associate professor of comparative literature and humanities; Lynn E. Garner, professor of mathematics; Richard C. Lounsbury, associate professor of classics and comparative literature; David C. Montgomery, professor of history; Francis R. Nordmeyer, professor of chemistry; Larry St. Clair, associate professor of botany and range science; Sally T. Taylor, associate professor of English; and Kent M. Van DeGraaff, professor of zoology.

The Alcuin Fellowships recognize outstanding teacher-scholars whose work at the university exceeds the limits of their disciplines and provides support for research and curriculum and professional development for three years.