Utah's 1st and 7th circuit courts are in the market for new judges.

Chief Justice Gordon R. Hall of the Utah Supreme Court announced the vacancies. First Circuit Judge Theodore S. Perry and 7th Circuit Judge A. John Ruggeri both retire at the end of the year.Applicants for the judgeships must be 25 years of age or older, U.S. citizens, Utah residents for three years prior to selection and admitted to practice law in Utah.

Additionally, judges must be willing to reside within the geographic jurisdiction of the court. The 1st Circuit includes Cache, Box Elder and Rich counties, and the 7th Circuit includes Carbon, Emery, Grand and San Juan counties.

Applications must be received by Aug. 19.

The Utah Constitution provides that the nominating commission shall submit to the governor three nominees within 45 days of its first meeting. The governor must make his selection within 30 days of the receipt of the names and the Senate must confirm or reject the governor's selection within 30 days.

In First Circuit Court the bar appointments are Miles Jensen, Logan, and Michael Miller, Brigham City. The governor's appointments are Nancy Hammond, Smithfield; Del Ray Bjorkman, Garland; Lucille Hansen, Brigham City; and Dennis Funk, Hyde Park.

The Seventh Circuit Court appointments from the bar are Marlynn Leman and Nick Sampinos, both of Price. The governor's appointments are Ray Hatt, Green River; Adrian Taylor, Moab; Bob Finney, Price; and Howard Randall, Blanding.

Applications must be sent to the Office of the Court Administrator, 230 S. Fifth East, Suite 300, Salt Lake City, UT 84102.