Ray J. Larsen, purchasing director at Utah State University, has been elected president of the Purchasing Management Association of Utah for 1988-89. He succeeds Raymond W. Close, purchasing director for Whitmore Oxygen, who becomes the director of national affairs for the organization.

Elected vice president was Helen B. McCausland, a purchaser for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, and Julie C. Anderson, Allied Clinical Labs, was elected secretary. Dorothy M. Hoskins, Evans & Sutherland, was elected treasurer.Elected to the board of directors were Harley W. Bradbury, IRECO; Eva T. Dixon, Salt Lake County Purchasing; and Dallas R. Froisland, Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control.

Larsen has been in purchasing and a member of the association for nine years. He served as vice president during the past year.