Quantcast

Comments about ‘Instarecap: Turf takes two points from RSL in draw’

Return to article »

Published: Saturday, April 13 2013 4:35 p.m. MDT

Comments
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Most recommended
collegestudent25
Cedar City, UT

As a certified referee I can tell you that the referee of that game got the call wrong. He should be removed from his position as quickly as possible. The foul is called intentionally handling the ball. I can read it from the laws of the game right now. Accidentally touching the ball with your hand is not a foul nonetheless a PK. It makes me so angry.

Nussdorfer AC
Salt Lake City, UT

There is no evidence Borchers deliberately handled the ball. Terrible call.

derecha
Central, UT

That is an absolutely horrific call by the ref. I don't know when referees will learn that "handling the ball" is not issued every time the ball hits an arm or hand. It has to be a deliberate handling of the ball, as stated in the rule. His hand was on the ground, trying to regain balance after a slip and the ball touched his arm (not hand to ball). He did not go after the ball with his arm, it was completely incidental contact and should not have been awarded anywhere on the pitch, but even more so, not in the penalty box. This was not a goal scoring opportunity, nor did this slight amount of contact stop a goal opportunity. Referees really need to learn the rules better because this opportunity went from a very low chance of scoring to an almost 80% chance by giving a PK and he truly affected the outcome of the game by making this call. He was wrong!

to comment

DeseretNews.com encourages a civil dialogue among its readers. We welcome your thoughtful comments.
About comments