Comments about ‘Utah Utes football notebook: Utes have spirited practice — again’

Return to article »

Published: Tuesday, Oct. 23 2012 8:19 p.m. MDT

Comments
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Most recommended
StGtoSLC
SALT LAKE CITY, UT

Blechen penalty: It's easy to teach it differently; JUST KEEP YOUR HEAD UP WHEN YOU MAKE A TACKLE! That may have been how they taught you to tackle 20 years ago maybe even up until ten years ago when Brian started learning, but you have to know at this point that you need to see what you hit, don't drop the crown of your helmet.

Duckhunter
Highland, UT

@stg

I thought that call on blechen was pretty weak. Yes I know that is the rule but that was a pretty minor bit of contact, not a full blown lower his head and light the guy up type of hit. I understand what they are trying to accomplish with that rule, and I support it, but a little bit of discretion in enforcing it would seem to be in order in my opinion. I've seen plenty of those called where the defender was aiming for a lower tackle and because the offensive player lowered his head it became helmet to helmet.

StGtoSLC
SALT LAKE CITY, UT

Duck, I guess I tend to have more of a conservative approach to that type of hit having known people both injured by and manage injuries sustained by spearing tackles. When I was watching the game and watched the play, I was pretty upset with the flag because obviously the receiver was not in a "defenseless" position, but on the first replay they showed, I agreed with the decision.

I definitely know what you mean about the enforcement of that rule when it comes to the offensive player inadvertently initiating helmet to helmet contact, but this didn't seem to me to be one of those cases at all. I'm not saying Blechen was aiming to hit him with the crown of his helmet. There's some kind of perception b players that if you lower your head, you can make the pop with your shoulders much harder, and I think that's what he was trying to do. But I still think he ought to know better.

Duckhunter
Highland, UT

@stg

You are correct, it was the right call, it just was not much in the way of contact but he did lower his head which is a penalty. I don't fault the ref's I fault the rule. I think for it to be called it needs to actually have done something and that one didn't do much. Those plays are split second, really tough to always miss the head. But you're right, it's a penalty.

to comment

DeseretNews.com encourages a civil dialogue among its readers. We welcome your thoughtful comments.
About comments