Eight things you may not know about the Iowa caucuses

Published: Tuesday, Jan. 3 2012 11:32 a.m. MST

#7 - An imperfect indicator Next » 2 of 8 « Prev
AP Photo/J. David Ake
Some analysts argue that Iowa is a flawed leading indicator for the Republican party. In the last five caucuses without an incumbent Republican president, the Iowa winner has only won the nominationtwice (Bob Dole in 1996, and George W. Bush in 2000). Iowa GOP Caucus winners who did not end up with the nomination include Mike Huckabee in 2008, Bob Dole in 1988, and George H.W. Bush in 1980. Yes, it's true: the revered Ronald Reagan did not win the 1980 Iowa Caucuses.

A pedestrian walks past satellite uplink trucks parked outside of the Polk County Convention Center in Des Moines, Iowa, Sunday, Jan. 1, 2012, as the news media set up for coverage of the Iowa Caucus results Tuesday evening.

Next » 2 of 8 « Prev
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Most recommended
Huntsville, UT

#8; Bell-wether not Bell-weather.

to comment

DeseretNews.com encourages a civil dialogue among its readers. We welcome your thoughtful comments.
About comments