Longest winning streaks of all time

Published: Friday, March 22 2013 6:13 p.m. MDT

26 - New York Baseball Giants Next » 4 of 22 « Prev
The Giants went from a sub-.500 team to a squad who finished 20 games above .500 by going on a 27-game unbeaten streak in September 1916. Beginning on Sept. 7 and stretching through the first game of a doubleheader on Sept. 30, the MLB New York team did not lose, winning 26 times and tying once. The 26 straight wins is the longest streak in MLB history.

When the streak began, New York had a 59-62-2 record. By the end of the year, the Giants were 86-66-3. Earlier in the season, the Giants also won 19 of 20 during one stretch, after the team started the season 2-13.
Next » 4 of 22 « Prev
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Most recommended
West Jordan, UT

Really, the LA Galaxy? Ties are not wins and therefore should not be includes in winning streaks. Only soccer fans would thing that this is an accomplishment. All other fans thing that this is a joke!

Cache county, USA

Sanderson is the man.

Mark B
Eureka, CA

Nice to see that VerGeer's record was included.

layton, UT

So you are contending that squash should be considered more than soccer? The most played sport in the world? Awesome. And am glad that all other fans "thing" that it's a joke. I am not a soccer player, but would baseball have been played in a blizzard like the US national team did last weekend?

All of these streaks are amazing in their own right. Well done to all of them.

Orem, UT

This wasn't a carefully researched list, interesting as it may be. Heather McKay, for example, was unbeaten in professional women's squash from 1962 until her retirement in 1981, during which time she won 16 consecutive British championships (the effective World Championships, though not named as such). That's a much, much more impressive record than Jahangir Khan's. And the longest winning streak in sporting history is usually regarded as belonging to the New York Yacht Club, which successfully defended the America's Cup against all challengers from 1857 to 1983.

to comment

DeseretNews.com encourages a civil dialogue among its readers. We welcome your thoughtful comments.
About comments