Longest winning streaks of all time

Published: Friday, March 22 2013 6:13 p.m. MDT

15 - L.A. Galaxy Next » 1 of 22 « Prev
The Galaxy have twice gone on 15-match regular season unbeaten streaks, in 1997-98 and again in 2009-10.

The MLS Los Angeles team won the final six games of its 1997 regular season, then was victorious in its first nine games of the 1998 season. The streak included a penalty-kick victory over San Jose in the 1998 season opener, as well as three victories where the Galaxy scored five or more goals.

The 2009-10 streak included 12 wins and three ties, and began with the final three games of the 2009 regular season. Real Salt Lake broke the streak with a 1-0 victory over the Galaxy on June 9, 2010.
Next » 1 of 22 « Prev
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Most recommended
West Jordan, UT

Really, the LA Galaxy? Ties are not wins and therefore should not be includes in winning streaks. Only soccer fans would thing that this is an accomplishment. All other fans thing that this is a joke!

Cache county, USA

Sanderson is the man.

Mark B
Eureka, CA

Nice to see that VerGeer's record was included.

layton, UT

So you are contending that squash should be considered more than soccer? The most played sport in the world? Awesome. And am glad that all other fans "thing" that it's a joke. I am not a soccer player, but would baseball have been played in a blizzard like the US national team did last weekend?

All of these streaks are amazing in their own right. Well done to all of them.

Orem, UT

This wasn't a carefully researched list, interesting as it may be. Heather McKay, for example, was unbeaten in professional women's squash from 1962 until her retirement in 1981, during which time she won 16 consecutive British championships (the effective World Championships, though not named as such). That's a much, much more impressive record than Jahangir Khan's. And the longest winning streak in sporting history is usually regarded as belonging to the New York Yacht Club, which successfully defended the America's Cup against all challengers from 1857 to 1983.

to comment

DeseretNews.com encourages a civil dialogue among its readers. We welcome your thoughtful comments.
About comments