Pacesetters and title-game starters: Utah ties to the Super Bowl

Published: Friday, Feb. 1 2013 12:47 p.m. MST

BYU quarterbacks undefeated in the Super Bowl Next » 9 of 10 « Prev

Any time a former Cougar quarterback has been on a Super Bowl roster, his team has won. Three former BYU QBs — Jim McMahon, Steve Young and Marc Wilson — have a combined seven Super Bowl titles, with one win each as a starter for McMahon and Young.

Wilson won titles with the Raiders in Super Bowl XV and XVIII, playing only in the second win and never throwing a pass.

McMahon completed 12-of-20 passes for 256 yards and scored a pair of short touchdown runs as the Bears beat New England 46-10 in Super Bowl XX in the first Super Bowl start for a BYU quarterback. McMahon did not play when he earned his second ring with Green Bay in Super Bowl XXXI.

Young picked up a pair of titles as a backup before earning his first Super Bowl title as a starter. When San Francisco won back-to-back championships in Super Bowls XXIII and XXIV, Young completed 2-of-3 passes for 20 yards. His lone title-game start came in Super Bowl XXIX against San Diego, as he completed 24-of-36 passes for 325 yards and his Super Bowl record six touchdowns.

Up next: Only a few players from Utah have made it to the premier game.
Next » 9 of 10 « Prev
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Most recommended
to comment

DeseretNews.com encourages a civil dialogue among its readers. We welcome your thoughtful comments.
About comments