BYU football: A look at the Cougars' 31 bowl appearances, 1974-2012

Published: Friday, Dec. 21 2012 7:30 a.m. MST

1974 Fiesta Bowl: Oklahoma State 16, BYU 6 Next » 1 of 31 « Prev
The Fiesta Bowl is known now as one of the Bowl Championship Series games, but in 1974, it had only existed for four years. The Tempe, Ariz.-based contest originally provided an automatic berth for the WAC champion (at this point, Arizona and Arizona State were both WAC teams).

Quarterback Gary Sheide and coach LaVell Edwards had led BYU to a 7-3-1 record and the WAC championship, but the Cougars were stifled by a tough Oklahoma State defense and managed only two early field goals in a low-scoring affair.

Related: 1974 Fiesta Bowl: Oklahoma State 16, BYU 6
Next » 1 of 31 « Prev
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Most recommended
Las Vegas, NV

CONGRESSMAN Jason Chaffetz


Representative is also the proper term for a member of the US House of Representatives.

Surfers Paradise, AU

I remember watching the Lee Johnson toe-punch that sailed wide. Lots of futility in the early years.

to comment

DeseretNews.com encourages a civil dialogue among its readers. We welcome your thoughtful comments.
About comments