A brief history of the WAC, 1962-2012

Published: Tuesday, Oct. 9 2012 12:46 p.m. MDT

Arizona Next » 1 of 31 « Prev
Christian Petersen, Getty Images
Nickname: Wildcats

Year joined: 1962

Year departed: 1978

WAC championships: 18

Current conference: Pac-12

Arizona experienced a lot of success during its time in the WAC. The Wildcats won the College World Series runner-up trophy in baseball in 1963. Arizona won the College World Series in 1976.
Next » 1 of 31 « Prev
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Most recommended

Thank you for a fantastic article. It is very interesting to be brought up to date on the history of the WAC.

DEW Cougars
Sandy, UT

what's really WACY that Carl Benson is no longer the commish which he belongs to CUSA.

Mike Johnson
Stafford, VA

Carl Benson is the commissioner of the Sun Belt and not C-USA.

to comment

DeseretNews.com encourages a civil dialogue among its readers. We welcome your thoughtful comments.
About comments