Former BYU quarterback Ty Detmer inducted into College Football Hall of Fame

Published: Tuesday, Dec. 4 2012 10:30 p.m. MST

Ty Detmer (Associated Press) Ty Detmer (Associated Press)

Former BYU quarterback Ty Detmer was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame on Tuesday night at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City.

Detmer was one of 17 players and coaches who were enshrined as part of the Class of 2012.

"I'm definitely very proud to be here," Detmer said Tuesday morning prior to the induction ceremonies. "To me, there's nothing better than college football and all that goes along with it. I'm proud to be here and accept this award. It's really representative of the team you played on and the coaches you played for. I'm proud to be representing that group."

Detmer, the 1990 Heisman Trophy winner, set 59 NCAA records during his time at BYU. He is now a high school coach in Texas.

The 2012 Hall of Fame class also featured former players Charles Alexander (LSU), Otis Armstrong (Purdue), Steve Bartkowski (California), Hal Bedsole (Southern California), Dave Casper (Notre Dame), Tommy Kramer (Rice), Art Monk (Syracuse), Greg Myers (Colorado State), Jonathan Ogden (UCLA), Gabe Rivera (Texas Tech), Mark Simoneau (Kansas State), Scott Thomas (Air Force) and John Wooten (Colorado).

Also enshrined were coaches Phillip Fullmer (Tennessee), Jimmy Johnson (Oklahoma State and Miami, Fla.) and R.C. Slocum (Texas A&M).

Detmer is the seventh Cougar to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, along with legendary coach LaVell Edwards; quarterbacks Gifford Nielsen, Marc Wilson, Jim McMahon, and Steve Young; and tight end Gordon Hudson.

Email: jeffc@desnews.com

Copyright 2016, Deseret News Publishing Company