The Intermountain Cricket League crowned Salt Lake Sabrecats its 2016 champion after they Sabrecats defeated the Beehives Cricket Club on Sunday at 11th Avenue Park in Salt Lake City in front of a mega crowd.

Salt Lake City Mayor Jackie Biskupski, who was also in attendance, mingled with fans before congratulating Sabrecats for winning the 2016 championship and handed out the championship trophy.

Beehives Cricket Club captain Farasat Saboor won the toss and elected to bat first. Right from the start the Sabrecats bowlers were giving the batsmen a hard time. And took a quick wicket of their opening batsman Tariq Khan.

At early stages of the match Sabrecats' bowler took quick wickets of the Beehives' batsman until Adil Sattar came up and stabilized the Beehive's inning by carefully analyzing the swing and the pace of Sabrecats bowlers Ishaq Afridi and Mark Irwin. Nonetheless, Sabrecats bowlers kept on delivering, limiting their opponents to 148 runs in 25 overs.

Right after the start of the second inning, Sabrecats batsmen showed patience and cautiously scoring runs against the thunderous pace of Fahad and Shahid Rana who took three quick wickets of Sabrecats top order batsmen. Until Mark Irwin and Maxwell Atkinson arrived at the crease and batted aggressively and took the Sabrecats to the victory in 22nd over with seven wickets. Mark Irwin ended up with unbeaten 47 runs, and he took two wickets. Maxwell Atkinson added valuable 38 runs and took two wickets of Beehives batsmen.

Biskupski said she was surprised to see the players from four continents are participating in the league and was happy to see the diversity league brings to Salt Lake City. She also applauded the efforts of the league for putting such a gala event together and for providing outdoors activities to the residents of Salt Lake City. The mayor expressed her ongoing support for the leagues and encouraged the youngsters to come out and enjoy nature and to get involved with the sporting activities.

The MVP award went to the Sabrecats' Mark Irwin.

The league awarded the best batsman of the year to Upel Iranga of the Stevens–Henager Jaguars.

The best bowler and the all-rounder of the tournament award went to Adil Sattar of the Beehives.

"This year marked a very special (season) for the Intermountain Cricket," said ICL president Nasir Khan. He also congratulated and thanked all of the league's elected board members and officials for achieving several milestones such as receiving 501-C-3 nonprofit status from the IRS.