SALT LAKE CITY — To commemorate the founding of the University of Utah on Feb. 28, 1850, the U. Alumni Association will celebrate four outstanding alumni and one honorary alumnus at the annual Founders Day banquet on Thursday, March 3, at the Little America Hotel, beginning with a reception at 6 p.m. and dinner at 7 p.m.

This year’s award recipients are Deneece G. Huftalin, president of Salt Lake Community College; Patricia W. Jones, former Utah state senator and president of Dan Jones & Associates; Fred P. Lewis, a renowned meteorologist and retired brigadier general with the U.S. Air Force, currently a senior vice president with Sutron Corp.; and Harris H. Simmons, chairman, president and CEO of Zions Bancorp.

This year’s Honorary Alumnus is Marion A. Willey, executive director of the Utah Non Profit Housing Corp.

The Alumni Association will also recognize Chimedyudon “Yudko” Tsogdelger, a U. student studying metallurgical engineering, as the 2016 Founders Day Scholarship recipient. The $8,000 scholarship is awarded annually to a student who has overcome difficult life circumstances or challenges and has served the U. and the community.