1 of 2
Tor Books
"Trial of Intentions" is the second book in the Vault of Heaven series by Peter Orullian.

"TRIAL OF INTENTIONS, Vault of Heaven, Vol. 2," by Peter Orullian, Tor Books, $27.99, 702 pages (f)

When the gods created the world Aeshau Vaal, they made the mistake of letting creatures of evil be created, in the genesis of Peter Orullian’s fantasy epic Vault of Heaven six-part series. Realizing this, they began to destroy both humanity and the creatures. One god spoke up for humanity and a barrier called the Veil was placed between humanity and the creatures, but it would need to be maintained forever through suffering or the evil would escape and destroy the humans. Eons have passed, and the Veil is weakening. Some believe the old stories, but others do not.

The second book, "Trial of Intentions," which will be released Tuesday, takes up right after the end of the first installment, "The Unremembered."

Tahn is the first to have survived the soul-searching visit to Tillinghast at the end of the first book. He now has power to use a part of himself to attack others in a Sheason fashion. Tahn, his best friend, Sutter, and his sister, Wendra, are on a quest to save their world from the Quietgiven, the evil creatures behind the barrier.

They are accompanied by Vendanj, a rebel Sheason; Braethon, a Sodalist or protector of the Sheason; Mira, a Far woman who fights with blinding speed; and Grant, an exile who, unbeknownst to Tahn, is Tahn’s real father.

They each have an important part in this quest. Tahn needs to learn more about his abilities and also goes back to the Grove, a place of scholarly research, to figure out a scientific way to strengthen the weakening Veil. Mira and Sutter go to find more allies and a solution to a personal problem for Mira. Wendra must go to the Descant Cathedral to learn how to control her powerful song.

Vendanj, Grant and Braethon go to the Convocation, a meeting of all known sovereigns that hasn’t been called for generations. They must prove there is a danger before Roth Staned, leader of the League of Civility, can convince those at the Convocation it’s all fairy tales and nonsense. It’s going to be hard for this fairy tale to have a happy ending as war looms ever closer.

This is an immediately engaging series with interesting characters and story. There’s great detail in this world, which comes with unique rules of magic and science, and the characters are well developed. Orullian does a nice job of switching between the different points of view and describing the differing areas of his world. This book would appeal to fans of Brandon Sanderson, Robert Jordan, J.R.R. Tolkien and Patrick Rothfuss.

Orullian, who lives in the Pacific Northwest, provides explanations and a summary of the first book at the beginning of the second book for those starting with "Trial of Intentions."

Comment on this story

There isn't any swearing or other foul language, but there are multiple war deaths and a fair amount of moderately described violence, as well as some kissing and nudity.

If you go ...

What: Peter Orullian book signing

When: Wednesday, June 3, 7 p.m.

Where: University Crossings Plaza, 330 E. 1300 South, Orem

Web: barnesandnoble.com, orullian.com

Kent Larson is from Phoenix and has been teaching for 26 years. He and his wife of 30 years have two sets of twins. His website is at kentalarson.wordpress.com.