WEST JORDAN — The Jordan Education Foundation's "prize patrol" surprised educators and special educators throughout the Jordan School District with its annual Outstanding Educator awards.

The foundation recognized Gayle Dowdle, Fort Herriman Middle; Sonja Ferrufino, Riverton High; Evelyn Murse, Riverton High; Margaret Van Ness, Eastlake Elementary; Christie Jarrard, Eastlake Elementary; Rebecca Wells, Bingham High; Lindsay Emmett, South Jordan Elementary; Lorenza Zamarron, Riverside Elementary; Natalie Walker, West Jordan Elementary; and Shelley Woeste, Kauri Sue Hamilton School.

The winners will be honored during a dinner, and each will receive a crystal award and $1,000.