New mayors prepare to take office

Published: Wednesday, Jan. 1 2014 7:00 p.m. MST

"I have the time, credentials and passion to work collaboratively with both the council and residents to keep Holladay City on an upward trajectory," Dahle said on his campaign website.

Dahle captured 51 percent of the vote over his opponent, while incumbent Dennis R. Webb didn't run.

As a longtime West Jordan resident, Kim Rolfe has seen the city's growth and the efforts of small businesses. In addition to a pledge for keeping taxes low and support for the local economy, the former city councilman's campaign included commitment to "maintain, not replace" when it comes to the city's infrastructure.

"The increase in population over the years means that roads, sewers and the transportation in our city is a major priority, as we expect the city to continue to grow rapidly," Rolfe said on his campaign website. "We must plan for the future by ensuring that the city infrastructure is properly maintained and upgraded in anticipation of the growth in the coming years."

West Jordan incumbent Mayor Melissa Johnson did not pursue re-election.

Lifetime Herriman resident Carmen Freeman put economic issues at the top of his campaign platform, citing the need to attract new business to the area.

"Herriman can no longer depend on impact fees for its primary source of revenue," Freeman said. "The long-term financial stability of Herriman will depend on sales tax revenue derived from companies and organizations conducting business in Herriman."

Incumbent Clint Smith, who was appointed in August to finish out Mayor Joshua Mills' term, did not run for office.

Davis County

In Davis County, Rick Earnshaw and Tamara Long secured convincing victories over incumbent mayors in Woods Cross and South Weber, respectively. City Councilman Earnshaw captured 60 percent of the vote over Mayor Kent Parry, while Long received 59 percent of the vote over Mayor Jeffery Monroe.

After two terms on the Centerville City Council, Paul Cutler hopes he can preserve a "small-town feel" as the city's mayor.

Part of that, he says on his campaign website, is continued opposition to a streetcar on Main Street.

"It would cost too much, it does not make economic sense, and I think it would make our Main Street traffic even worse," he said. "I live on Main Street, and I want to limit the traffic and width of Main Street in residential areas."

Outgoing Mayor Ronald Russell, who chose not to seek a third term, endorsed Cutler as a qualified and hard-working replacement.

Randy Lewis says he's "Hooked on Bountiful."

Education, economic development, fiscal responsibility and family and community must be priorities for the city he admires, said Lewis, a businessman and committee member for the Davis County Chamber of Commerce. Lewis said on his campaign website he hopes to continue the successful work of past mayors.

Incumbent Mayor Joe Johnson didn't run for re-election.

In Layton, Bob Stevenson will replace Mayor Steve Curtis, who did not seek re-election and died unexpectedly on Nov. 29. Curtis served nearly eight years as mayor and 10 years on the Layton City Council. Councilman Jory Francis was selected as mayor pro term until Stevenson is sworn in.

In other areas of Davis County, Mark Shepherd was elected mayor of Clearfield, H. James Talbot will lead Farmington, Don Carroll was elected in Fruit Heights, and Terry Palmer was elected in Syracuse.

Utah County

Don Watkins is returning as mayor of Alpine, a post he held from 1998 to 2002. The businessman who has lived in the city for three decades promised to protect the area's hillsides and mountains; run an effective, conservative government; and preserve Alpine's small-town charm, according to his website. Watkins ousted incumbent Hunt Willoughby.

Richard Brunst, whose international business is based out of Orem, advocated for "getting our city fiscally responsible again" by not getting into new debt. He also called for change in management of UTOPIA while stemming the financial bleed it has been on the city.

In Eagle Mountain and Pleasant Grove, the incumbent candidates were unseated by Christopher Pengra and Mike Daniels, respectively.

Jim Miller was elected to succeed Mia Love, who did not run again, as mayor of Saratoga Springs.

Steve Leifson was elected mayor of Spanish Fork, Jeff Acerso was elected in Lindon, Mark Thompson was elected in Highland, and Fred Jensen was elected in Goshen.

Email: mromero@deseretnews.com

Twitter: McKenzieRomero

Try out the new DeseretNews.com design!
try beta learn more
Get The Deseret News Everywhere