Incumbent mayors fare well in Salt Lake County

Published: Tuesday, Nov. 5 2013 11:50 p.m. MST

Davis County

Nine new mayors were welcomed in, with five incumbents retaining their seats.

Bountiful saw a change from incumbent Mayor Joe Johnson's leadership when Randy Lewis won with 84 percent of the vote, beating Beth Holbrook.

In Centerville, new Mayor Paul Cutler will take over for outgoing Mayor Ronald G. Russell. Cutler claimed the title with 56 percent of the vote.

Continuing the changes in Davis County, Clearfield Mayor Don W. Wood did not run for office this time around, leaving the seat open for Mark R. Shepherd, who claimed nearly 74 percent of the vote to defeat Gary Scott Baldwin.

In Clinton, incumbent Mayor Lane "Mitch" Adams received 64 percent of the vote to Debbie Barlow's 35 percent.

Farmington's new Mayor H. James Talbot claimed the seat uncontested, taking over for Mayor Scott Harbertson.

Incumbent Fruit Heights Mayor Todd Stevenson did not run for re-election, leaving a spot open for Don Carroll, who won over Eileen Moss.

Kaysville will remain under the charge of incumbent Mayor Steve Hiatt, who beat challenger Arthur Rexford Whittaker.

Kaysville voters also decided to allocate all city power revenue to power department operations, with any extra funds going back to customers.

Bob J. Stevenson will be the new mayor of Layton, taking over leadership from current mayor Steve Curtis.

In North Salt Lake, incumbent Mayor Leonard K. Arave defeated challenger Ryan Macfarlane.

Tamara P. Long earned nearly 59 percent of the vote to oust incumbent South Weber Mayor Jeffery G. Monroe.

Sunset greeted their new mayor when Beverly K. Macfarlane beat Ryan D. Furniss, filling the position left open by Mayor Chad Bangerter, who did not run for office this term.

Syracuse may see change under the leadership of Mayor Terry Palmer, who claimed victory over Douglas Peterson, filling the shoes of current Mayor Jamie Nagle.

Woods Cross will now be led by Rick Earnshaw, who defeated incumbent Mayor Kent M. Parry with 61 percent of the vote.

West Bountiful Mayor Ken Romney will continue his service in the office, having run without competition.

Utah County

Voters in Provo approved Mayor John R. Curtis for another term, winning with an overwhelming 86 percent of votes over contender Jason Christensen.

David S. Sewell will now serve on the Provo City Council, filling an at-large position left open when Councilwoman Laura Cabanilla did not run for another term.

Kim Santiago, who ran an uncontested race, will take over for Rick Healey as the representative for City Council District 2, which covers the Oak Hills, Wasatch, BYU and northwest Joaquin areas.

Stephen A. Hales will represent the downtown, Franklin, Dixon, Provo High, Joaquin and Maeser areas contained within District 5.

As of press time, Richard Brunst was leading in the race for mayor of Orem, with nearly 57 percent of precincts having reported. The new mayor will take over leadership from current Mayor James T. Evans.

The majority of voters in Orem also were in favor of continuing a 0.1 percent sales tax for cultural, arts and recreation enrichment in the city and had voted against a property tax increase.

In Alpine, results for the race between incumbent Mayor Hunt Willoughby and Don N. Watkins were not yet available.

Try out the new DeseretNews.com design!
try beta learn more
Get The Deseret News Everywhere