Incumbent mayors fare well in Salt Lake County

Published: Tuesday, Nov. 5 2013 11:50 p.m. MST

Matt Shadle and Stephan Balanco stand on 9000 South and State Street with reindeer in Sandy encouraging motorists to vote Tuesday, Nov. 5, 2013.

Jeffrey D. Allred, Deseret News

SALT LAKE CITY — Tuesday was a good day for incumbent mayors in cities throughout Salt Lake County, with only two losing their seats.

That includes the mayoral race in South Jordan, which was too close to call. Unofficially, Dave Alvord edged incumbent Scott L. Osborne by just 19 votes, or 0.2 percent, with all precincts reporting.

Osborne said he was "quite surprised" with the results, having felt like he had run a good race.

"I have no regrets — none whatsoever," Osborne said.

The tally won't be official until a canvass is complete Nov. 19, taking into account provisional and absentee ballots.

The only other incumbent to fall in Salt Lake County was Taylorsville Mayor Jerry Rechtenbach, who was ousted by candidate Larry Johnson by a 53 percent to 46 percent margin.

West Valley City Mayor Mike Winder did not seek re-election, paving the way for a victory by Ron Bigelow. The new mayor will lead the city in its efforts to clear its name after controversy surrounding Winder and a troubled police force.

Murray's new Mayor Ted Eyre ran unopposed, taking over for Dan Snarr, who ran the city for four terms before stepping down.

Bluffdale's incumbent Mayor Derk P. Timothy retained his seat, running uncontested.

In Cottonwood Heights, incumbent Mayor Kelvyn Cullimore easily retained his seat, defeating Peyton Robinson with more than 63 percent of the vote.

Troy K. Walker took over as Draper's mayor, a seat left open when incumbent Mayor Darrell Smith did not run again for the office.

Herriman Mayor Carmen R. Freeman took over the reins for interim appointee Clint Smith, beating Michelle Baguley by a 58 percent to 40 percent margin.

Robert M. Dahle is the new mayor of Holladay, filling the vacancy created by Dennis R. Webb by defeating D. Blaine Anderson.

Midvale will continue to enjoy the efforts of incumbent Mayor JoAnn B. Seghini, who won the election with 63 percent of the vote.

In Sandy, Mayor Tom Dolan will get the extra term he was looking for, earing 66 percent of the vote in his race against David Perry.

Incumbent South Salt Lake Mayor Cherie Wood appears to have earned another term in office with a slim 51 percent to 49 percent victory over challenger Derk O. Pehrson.

West Jordan welcomed new Mayor Kim V. Rolfe, who beat contender Ben Southworth in another close race, 51 percent to 48 percent. Incumbent Mayor Melissa Johnson did not pursue re-election.

The Salt Lake City Council also saw some changes, with James Rogers taking 51.6 percent of the vote to defeat Kevin S. Parke in District 1, which spans the Rose Park and northwest sections of the city. Incumbent City Councilman Carlton Christensen left an empty seat when he did not seek re-election.

The Avenues and Capitol Hill areas within District 3 welcomed back incumbent Councilman Stan Penfold, who eanred nearly 77 percent of the vote in his race against Sherman W. Clow.

Erin Mendenhall coasted to victory in District 5, which includes the Central City and Liberty-Wells areas, earning nearly 82 percent of the vote and claiming the seat held by longtime Councilwoman Jill Remington Love.

Sugar House's representative on the City Council, Soren Simonsen, did not run for office this term, leaving the District 7 position open for Lisa Ramsey Adams, who defeated Kevin Paulson by a 69 percent to 30 percent margin.

Voters in Taylorsville also chose to allow the city to be grafted into the Unified Fire Service Area.

Try out the new DeseretNews.com design!
try beta learn more
Get The Deseret News Everywhere