SALT LAKE CITY — The Appellate Judicial Nominating Commission has selected nominees for a vacancy on the Utah Court of Appeals. The vacancy results from the retirement of Judge William A. Thorne Jr. on Sept. 15.

The nominees for the vacancy are Diana Hagen, appellate chief, U.S. Attorney's Office; Linda M. Jones, partner, Zimmerman Jones Booher LLC; 4th District Judge Darold J. McDade; 4th District Judge David N. Mortensen; John A. Pearce, general counsel, Office of the Governor; Salt Lake County deputy district attorney Paula K. Smith; and 3rd District Judge Kate A. Toomey.

Written comments can be submitted to Appellate Judicial Nominating Commission Chairman Kerry Gibson at Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 142330, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2330 or by email at The deadline for written comments is 5 p.m. on Oct. 3.

The commission may request further information or conduct an investigation of the nominees after reviewing public comments. The names will be sent to Gov. Gary Herbert, who will have 30 days to make an appointment. His appointee is subject to confirmation by the Utah Senate.