SALT LAKE CITY — Mayoral candidates in West Valley and South Salt Lake are calling for recounts of primary election results in their respective cities.

During city canvass meetings Tuesday, city councils finalized the primary election votes, counting mail-in and provisional ballots that were not available on primary election night.

If the difference in votes between the second- and third-place candidates falls within 0.25 percent of the total votes cast in a city — four votes for South Salt Lake and 16 for West Valley — then the third-place candidate can request a recount.

"I think it's good that Don (Christensen) asked for a recount just so that there is no question," said West Valley City mayoral candidate Karen Lang, who received 13 votes more than Christensen.

Lang said she anticipated a recount and in the meantime is moving forward with her campaign and waiting for the final results.

Christensen submitted a letter requesting a recount to the city recorder Wednesday. He said he hopes he still has a chance as mayor, but if the recount of the people's votes eliminates him from the race, "that's what I'll live with."

Either Lang or Christensen will contend against Ron Bigelow for the mayoral seat in November.

South Salt Lake mayoral candidate L. Shane Siwik, who came in two votes behind Derk Pehrson, said he does not anticipate the results of the election to change but thought he owed it to his supporters and constituents "to finish the fight."

"It was worth just not having any speculation out there," he said.

At first, Siwik said he did not want to cost Pehrson campaign time.

"I didn't want Derk to lose another week," he said.

Siwik submitted his request for a recount Wednesday after learning that the recount results would be in by Thursday.

Either Pehrson or Siwik will run against incumbent Cherie Wood.

Salt Lake County Clerk Sherrie Swensen said she is happy to accommodate recounts to make sure every candidate feels like they have been dealt with fairly.

"There can be a slight variation," Swensen said

Other close races throughout the state were confirmed Wednesday.

Salt Lake County

Kevin Paulson will join Lisa Ramsey Adams in the race for the District 7 seat on the Salt Lake City Council.

Official results for all races in Salt Lake County can be found on the county clerk's website.

Utah County

Chris Nichols and Richard Brunst are Orem's mayoral candidates, with Tom MacDonald, Mary Street, Brent Summer, Wayne Burr, Sharon Price Anderson and David M. Spencer as City Council candidates.

In Provo, Jason Christensen emerged as the candidate who will challenge incumbent John Curtis.

Lehi's incumbent Mayor Bert Wilson will be challenged for the office in November by Jim Hewitson.

Results for select cities in Utah County can be found the county website.

Davis County

Comment on this story

Although Dawn Fitzpatrick looked to have a chance at running for Layton City Council on primary election night, official election results show that Thomas Day, Barry T. Flitton, Mike Bouwhuis and Joy Petro remain the candidates for November's general election.

In Syracuse, Michael L. Gailey, Brian P. Duncan, Allen K. Lowry and Gary R. Pratt remain as the City Council candidates.

Results for select cities in Davis County can be found on the county website.


Twitter: whitevs7