Municipal matchups take shape following primary election

Published: Tuesday, Aug. 13 2013 11:10 p.m. MDT

Municipal elections were held throughout the state Tuesday, with the top mayoral and city council candidates advancing to the Nov. 5 general election.

Brian Nicholson, El Observador de Utah

Enlarge photo»

MURRAY — Jim Brass and supporters stood on the corner of State Street and 5200 South on Tuesday afternoon to motivate more people to vote.

Mayor Dan Snarr stepped down, leaving an open mayor's seat in Murray for the first time in more than a decade. Brass said his experience in the city's government qualifies him to take over the job.

One cyclist with white buckets on either side of his bike stopped, grabbed a Brass campaign sign and joined the group. A few minutes later, he rode off.

Minutes earlier, Joelle and Daren Rasmussen exited their polling location, the Murray Library, about a block away. They vote in every election, Joelle Rasmussen said.

"We can't complain about the issues if we did not vote," she said.

Municipal elections were held throughout the state Tuesday, with the top mayoral and city council candidates advancing to the Nov. 5 general election.

Vote by mail and provisional ballots have yet to be counted. This means that results — especially in races where candidates are within 1 percent of each other — are preliminary, Salt Lake County Clerk Sherrie Swensen. Results will be finalized by cities with an official canvass.

Salt Lake County

In Murray, of the six candidates vying for the open mayoral seat, Ted Eyre received 36 percent and David Wilde had 23 percent, just 46 votes ahead of Brass at 22 percent. Mail-in and provisional ballots will determine the clear winner at the city's canvass meeting.

Draper Mayor Darrell Smith opted not to run again after three terms. In the race to replace him, Troy Walker received 49 percent of the vote, followed by Phillip Shell with 38 percent. Four candidates for Draper City Council — William Rappleye, Jeffrey Stenquist, Carolyn Hunsaker and Michele Weeks — also advanced.

In West Jordan, the pool of nine mayoral candidates was narrowed to Ben Southworth, who received 28 percent of the vote, and Kim Rolfe at 20 percent. The 11 City Council candidates were whittled down to Chad Nichols, Gregory Simonsen, Dixie Memmott and Jeff Haaga.

Herriman residents will choose between Carmen Freeman and Michelle Baguley for mayor.

In Midvale, longtime Mayor JoAnn Seghini survived a primary challenge with 55 percent of the vote and will face David Fair in the general election. Wayne Sharp, Tim Heumann, Stephen Brown and Colleen Costello were the top vote-getters in the race for two City Council seats.

South Jordan Mayor Scott Osborne was appointed to the office in 2012. He made it through Tuesday's primary with nearly 39 percent of the vote and will face Dave Alvord, who received 22 percent of the vote, on Election Day.

South Jordan City Council candidates Christopher Rogers and Larry Short also made it through the primary election.

South Salt Lake Mayor Cherie Wood will have another chance after her first term in office after receiving nearly 47 percent of the vote Tuesday. Her challenger will be either Derk Pehrson, Shane Siwik or Nick Gosdis, all of whom received a little more than 16 percent of the vote and were separated by just eight votes.

Salt Lake City has four open seats for City Council. Incumbent Stan Penfold advanced with 71 percent of the vote in District 3 and will face Sherman Clow in the general election. Also clearing the primary election hurdle were James Rogers and Kevin Parke in District 1, and Erin Mendenhall and Bill Davis in District 5.

In District 7, Lisa Ramsey Adams was the clear winner with 32 percent of the vote, followed by Kevin Paulson with 18 percent. But Paulson was only 24 votes ahead of Deb Henry and 28 votes in front of Amy Barry in the unofficial results.

Try out the new DeseretNews.com design!
try beta learn more
Get The Deseret News Everywhere