Quantcast

UVU wrestling: Wolverines head to North Carolina this weekend

By James Warnick

For the Deseret News

Published: Friday, Nov. 9 2012 11:49 a.m. MST

OREM, Utah – The Utah Valley University wrestling team will travel across the country this weekend to take part in the Campbell University Duals in Buies Creek, N.C., on Saturday and the Wolfpack Open in Raleigh, N.C., on Sunday.

On Saturday, UVU will begin its dual season by taking on host Campbell at 4 p.m. ET/2 p.m. MT and Bloomsburg at 6 p.m. ET/4 p.m. MT. The Wolverines will then compete at NC State's Wolfpack Open beginning at 9 a.m. ET/7 a.m. MT on Sunday.

Live video will be available for Saturday's dual with Campbell by visiting GoCamels.com, and live results can be followed during Sunday's Wolfpack Open at TrackWrestling.com.

Utah Valley is coming off of a solid opening season performance at the Cowboy Open in Laramie, Wyo., last weekend. Two Wolverines won titles, in 165-pounder Abner Cook and 174-pounder Monte Schmalhaus, while nine others placed.

Behind Cook and Schmalhaus, Ethan Smith (165 pounds) placed second, twin brothers Jade Rauser (125) and Val Rauser (133) both finished third along with heavyweight Adam Fager, and Glenn Terrano came in fourth. David Prieto (197) and Colby Christensen (125) also placed third and fourth, respectively, last Saturday, but they were competing unattached to UVU at the tournament.

Saturday will mark each team's first dual competition of the 2012-13 season.

UVU went 6-10 in duals and 1-5 in Western Wrestling Conference action a year ago. Campbell was recently tabbed to finish third in the Southern Conference Preseason Poll and went 11-17 overall and 3-3 in conference last year. Bloomsburg finished 16-7 a year ago and 3-3 in the Eastern Wrestling League.

The Wolverines return one NCAA Qualifier this season in senior Josh Wilson (149). Wilson, who is ranked 18th by InterMat, is expected to be in the lineup after going 20-11 a year ago and 9-4 in duals.

The Wolfpack Open will be held at NC State's Reynolds Coliseum and will feature most of the top college wrestling programs in the Southeast, with perhaps as many as 250-300 wrestlers competing in the 10 weight classifications.

Thus far, a total of 15 teams will be represented including host NC State, as well as fellow ACC schools Duke, North Carolina, Maryland, Virginia and Virginia Tech.

Following this weekend's action, the Wolverines will take the next couple weeks off but will return to the mat in Las Vegas, Nev., on Nov. 30 and Dec. 1 for the Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational.

James Warnick is an assistant sports information director at Utah Valley University. For more information about Wolverine athletics, visit www.WolverineGreen.com.

Get The Deseret News Everywhere

Subscribe

Mobile

RSS