High school football: Felt's Facts Week 8

Published: Thursday, Oct. 4 2012 12:00 p.m. MDT

Dixie, 1966-1976: Over coaching icon Walter Brooks’ last nine years and Ray Odette’s first two, the Flyers snared four state titles, including three straight from 1972-74, and flew region champion banners all 11 seasons. Dixie won a school record 23 consecutive games from 1973-75. The Flyers also won nearly 85 percent of their games in posting a 106-19-1 overall record, including a 56-6 mark from ’70-74. They enjoyed the school’s only undefeated, untied campaign in 1974 and five additional one-loss seasons. Five of Dixie’s six all-time All-State MVPs played during this era: Dennis Alldredge (’73), Wayne Christen (’67), Lynn Lewis (’72), Kenny Thompson (’74) and Kirk Topham (’72).

Emery County, 1987-1993: The Spartans snatched their only state championship and a school-best 11-1 record in 1987 and grabbed four region crowns, including three straight from ’87-’89. During Jim Jones’ first seven seasons, Emery posted a 56-20 record and made the postseason annually. Joel Wilson was acclaimed as All-State MVP in 1987.

Grantsville, 1995-1998: The Cowboys roped two of their three state titles in back-to-back championships in 1996 and ’97 and won a region title in ’98. Grantsville made another title-game appearance in ’95 and advanced to the semis in ’98, en route to a 11-2 playoff record and a 40-9 overall mark under Kevin Butler. The Cowboys scored in double digits in 43 of 49 games, including 24 straight from the ’97 season opener through the last game of ’98. Grantsville gridders who gained All-State MVP status include Aaric Allred (’96), Byron Anderson (’97), Greg Bleazard (’96) and Alan Mouritsen (’97-98), one of nine to repeat as MVP.

Juan Diego, 2002-present (records through 2011): The Soaring Eagle thrived on five state championships, three-peating from 2008-10, and nine consecutive region titles from 2003-11. JD rolled to a 109-18 record, eight double-digit win seasons and two undefeated campaigns under John Colosimo. In the playoffs, the school went 24-5 and won 13 straight state games from 2008-11. All-State MVPs during the era include Keegan Andersen (’09), Garry Hrechkosy (’04), Jamie Markosian (’08), James Rosenbury (’02), Chad Vaculin (’09) and Marquis Wilson (’04), who is also one of 25 three-time All-State players.

L.D.S., 1924: The Gold and Blue celebrated its only state and region championship — and undefeated season — in Vadal Peterson’s final year before he moved on to coach at the U. In the state title game, L.D.S. tied with Carbon; the UHSAA split the ball in two and awarded half to each team. L.D.S., in Salt Lake City, played football for 12 seasons, from 1919-30.

North Cache, 1939: Hebe Whiting guided the Bulldogs to their only region championship, their sole state final appearance and a 6-2 record. Donald Blair, Bob Coate, Dick Griffin and Cannon Parkinson were named All-State gridders. North Cache, in Richmond, fielded a team for 45 years, from 1919-63.

Sky View, 2005-08: The Bobcats seized consecutive region crowns in 2006-07 and raced to a 35-12 record in Craig Anhder’s first four seasons. The ’06 squad enjoyed a school-best 11-1 record, while in ’07 Sky View advanced to the semifinals. Kyle Allen (’07), Eric Berntson (’08), JD Falslev (’06, ’08), Jase Hill (’06) and Britain Martin (’06) were standout All-State players.

Timpview, 1990-present (records through 2011): The Thunderbirds ran off with seven state championships, including four consecutive from 2006-09. They won 16 region titles in 22 seasons, highlighted by seven straight from 2005-11. During Chad Van Orden’s 15 years (through 2004) and Louis Wong’s seven, Timpview posted a 221-48 (.822) overall record. In postseason play, the T-Birds went 48-15, and Wong was 20-3. Timpview enjoyed 13 double-digit winning seasons, including the past six, and owns Utah’s longest winning streak, 36 games, set from 2006-2009. The streak included 13-0 campaigns in 2007 and ’08. Craig Bills (’08), Stephen Covey (’04), Ryan Engemann (’91), Mark Ercanbrack (’07), Doug Henstrom (’91), Ofa Latu (’09), Devin Mausia (’06), Dominque Moe (’07), Ethan Ross (’97) and Xavier Su’a-Filo (’08) were All-State MVPs. In addition, Bills (’06-08) and Matt Reynolds (’02-04) became three-time All-State players.

Weber, 1995-1999: The Warriors’ best stretch culminated in winning the 1999 state championship. Under Kory Bosgeiter, Weber also took region honors in 1995 and won 37 games in four years. Ashton Buswell earned All-State MVP status in ’99.

Felt’s Facts welcomes questions. Email: utahprepfb@gmail.com .