Firework restrictions throughout Utah

Published: Friday, June 29 2012 8:00 p.m. MDT

Fireworks and fire within town limits are restricted.

Cedar Hills

No fireworks of any kind are allowed in the hillside areas east of Canyon Road (SR 146), due to extreme dry conditions. In addition, no aerial fireworks or open fires are allowed anywhere in the city. Non-aerial fireworks may be legally discharged within the city limits, other than on the east hillside, between the hours of 11am and 11pm on July1-7 (July 4 hours extended to midnight) and July 21-27 (July 24 hours extended to midnight).

Eagle Mountain

Eagle Mountain City is banning fireworks from the following subdivisions: Lake Mountain Road, Cedar Pass Ranch, North Ranch, Ruby Valley, Lone Tree, Kiowa Valley, Eagle Top, Point Lookout, Hidden Canyon, Fremont Springs, Meadow Ranch, Valley View, and White Hills.

Elk Ridge

Fireworks are banned throughout the city. 


Fireworks banned in all areas south of Highway 6 within Genola Town limits, all areas east of 800 East to 1200 North, all areas of Hillside Drive and continuing on 1600 North to Main Street and all areas east of Lake Road within city limits. For information go to http://genola.org/


Fireworks are banned in Traverse Mountain and along the Dry Creek Corridor because of the extreme fire hazard conditions those areas present.


Some fireworks restrictions.  For information, see http://orem.org/images/stories/Fireworks%20Restrictions.pdf.


Fireworks are banned except in the Payson City Center parking lots, Memorial Park parking lots and Orchard Hills Ball Park parking lot. 

Pleasant Grove

Aerial fireworks are banned in all areas east of the Murdock Canal from the south boundary of Pleasant Grove City to 1100 North and east of 100 East from 1100 North to the north boundary of Pleasant Grove City. These defined areas represent the neighborhoods of Battle Creek, Grove Creek, Big Spring and a small portion of Manila. For more information go to http://www.plgrove.org/ 


Fireworks are prohibited for the majority of the east side of Provo as well as most city parks and BYU Campus. For a detailed map of areas with fireworks restrictions and parks where fireworks are permitted visit: http://bit.ly/ProvoFireworks


All fireworks are banned. The city celebration on July 18 is still scheduled. If extreme fire conditions continue the city may cancel the July 18 event.

Spanish Fork

Fireworks are prohibited in all industrial areas of the city as well as in all areas south of the Spanish Fork River from the west end of the Spanish Oaks Golf Course and eastwardly to the city limits. For more information go to http://bit.ly/SpanishFork.


Fireworks are restricted starting at 1400 North Main (State Road 75) East to 150 East, South to 1150 North then East to Millpond Drive then South to 400 North 400 East. Then East to 800 East and South to 200 North. East to 1170 East and follow 180 North to 1300 East Center. Follow 1300 East to Canyon road then East to 2450 East Canyon Road and proceed South to the Springville/Mapleton boundary line. For more information visit the Utah Fire Marshal’s list of cities with restrictions and select the Springville link.

Try out the new DeseretNews.com design!
try beta learn more
Get The Deseret News Everywhere