Firework restrictions throughout Utah

Published: Friday, June 29 2012 8:00 p.m. MDT

Nephi City has prohibited the discharge of fireworks east of I-15 and on any city-owned property outside the city limits.

Millard County

Holden Town

All fireworks prohibited within the town boundaries.

Morgan County


The Morgan Fire Department banned all ignition sources, including fireworks. 

Morgan County is banned from any fireworks

 Piute County


Marysvale town has cancelled the town's fireworks for the 24th of July due to the extremely dry conditions. 

 Rich County

Garden City

All fireworks are banned. 


Salt Lake County


All fireworks banned.

Cottonwood Heights

Fireworks banned east of Wasatch Blvd. For a complete list of all the areas in the city that have firework restrictions visit http://bit.ly/CottonWood


Fireworks are not allowed east of 1300 East, south  of 13800 South, west of the I-15 freeway and in the area around the Mehraban Wetlands Park. For information and a map visit http://www.draper.ut.us/.


Aerial fireworks have been banned within city limits. Ground fireworks can still be used on cement, asphalt or similar hard surfaces with emergency water nearby. For  information go to http://www.cityofholladay.com/. 


Fireworks are banned from the Jordan River Trail that passes through Midvale City as well as the southwest corner of the city. Visit the Utah Fire Marshal's list of cities with restrictions and click on the Midvale link for more information. 


Fireworks are banned on the Murray Parkway Trail and anywhere within 300 feet of the trail. They are also banned within 300 feet and in Murray Park as well as within 300 feet of Wheeler Farm.

Salt Lake City

Salt Lake City has banned all fireworks east of Foothill Drive; the University of Utah campus; all areas north of South Temple to State Street and North Temple to 200 West; City Creek Canyon; City parks and all areas west of I-215. For more information go to www.slcfire.com

Sandy City

No fireworks allowed in parks-urban interface areas. For a detailed map of the more than 30 areas where they are banned visit www.sandy.utah.gov/fireworks.

South Jordan

Fireworks are prohibited within a city or county park or open space without a permit, within 200 feet of the natural vegetation border of the Bingham Creek open space and trail system and within 200 feet of the western boundary of the Jordan River Parkway. For more information go to http://www.sjc.utah.gov/ 


Try out the new DeseretNews.com design!
try beta learn more
Get The Deseret News Everywhere