Utah State University Intercollegiate Athletics Hall of Fame announces Class of 2012

By Doug Hoffman

For the Deseret News

Published: Monday, March 19 2012 2:00 p.m. MDT

A nine-time All-American in the weight throws, a three-time All-American in the pole vault, a two-time wrestling All-American, a softball All-American, one of the best men’s basketball players in school history and three football standouts comprise the latest class of Utah State University’s Intercollegiate Athletics Hall of Fame, announced Monday.

The dinner and induction ceremony for the Hall of Fame’s 10th class is scheduled for Saturday, Sept. 8, 2012, at the Riverwoods Conference Center in Logan.

The eight inductees include: Alfred Castro, one of just two wrestlers in school history to be named a two-time All-American; Eric Hipple, an outstanding quarterback; Brian Jackson, one of the best Aggie basketball players ever; Shae Jones-Bair, one of just two female track athletes in school history to earn All-American honors three times; James Murphy, a prolific wide receiver; James Parker, the most decorated student-athlete in Utah State history earning All-American track honors nine times; Kristie Skoglund, one of six Aggie softball All-Americans; and Emmett White, the NCAA’s active single-game all-purpose yardage record holder.

“We are extremely proud of this class and the legacy each of them left at Utah State University,” said Utah State Athletic Director Scott Barnes. “This group joins 61 other outstanding individuals, along with three teams, to further ensure the proud tradition of Aggie athletics.”

A total of 69 individuals and three teams have now been inducted into the Utah State Athletics Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame was founded in 1993 with 12 initial members, followed by eight members in 1994 and seven in 1995. The addition of any inductees was stopped until 2006, when five more individuals were added, followed by six recipients in 2007, five more in 2008 to go along with the first-ever team inducted, seven more in 2009, six in 2010 and five in 2011, plus two more national championship teams.

Located inside the Steve Mothersell Hall of Honor, the Utah State Athletics Hall of Fame gives fans the opportunity to view biographical information and watch videos about each of the inducted members. Both the Hall of Fame and the Hall of Honor are located inside the Jim and Carol Laub Athletics-Academics Complex in the north end of Romney Stadium.

The Hall of Fame Committee made its final selections for this year’s class last fall. The inductees must fit into one of five categories: student-athlete, coach, team, athletics staff member or contributor/special achievement. Contributor/special achievement includes individuals who have contributed to the ideal of sports at the university. Each nominee must receive at least 75 percent of the committee’s vote to be eligible for induction.

Members of the committee are: Scott Barnes, Jana Doggett, Gregg Gensel, Patty Halaufia, Craig Hislop, Dee Jones, Hal Labelle, Al Lewis, Carl Lundahl, Dale Mildenberger, Steve Noel and Doug Hoffman (chairman). 2012 Utah State University Intercollegiate Athletics Hall of Fame class

Alfred Castro — Hometown: Coachella, Calif.; sport: wrestling; years: 1984-87

Castro is one of just two wrestlers in Utah State history to be a two-time All-American along with Cordel Andersen. Castro earned his first All-American honor as a sophomore in 1985 as he posted a 32-7-1 record and finished seventh at the NCAA Championships at 118 pounds. As a junior, he was named the Pacific Coast Athletic Association (PCAA) Wrestler of the Year as he won the league’s individual championship at 118 pounds. He then earned his second All-American that same year as he placed eighth at the NCAA Championships at 118 pounds.

Try out the new DeseretNews.com design!
try beta learn more
Get The Deseret News Everywhere